Northern Ireland

Norlin Airlann or Norlin Airlan!

Northern Ireland
Northern Ireland (Irish: Tuaisceart Éireann, Ulster Scots: Norlin Airlann or Norlin Airlan) is situated in the north-east part of the island of Ireland, it shares a border with the Republic of Ireland to the south and west. It consists of six of the nine counties of the Irish province of Ulster.

Owing to its unique history, the issue of the symbolism, name and description of Northern Ireland is complex, as is the issue of citizenship and identity. People from Northern Ireland, part of the United Kingdom, are British citizens. They are also entitled to Irish citizenship by birth under the 1998 Belfast Agreement between the British and Irish governments, which provides that: it is the birthright of all the people of Northern Ireland to identify themselves and be accepted as Irish or British, or both, as they may so choose, and accordingly [the two governments] confirm that their right to hold both British and Irish citizenship is accepted by both Governments and would not be affected by any future change in the status of Northern Ireland.

Northern Ireland Executive
Exercises executive authority on behalf of the Northern Ireland Assembly. It also agrees proposals put forward by Ministers for new legislation. It is also responsible for drawing up a programme for government and an agreed budget for approval by the Assembly.
Northern Ireland Office
The Northern Ireland Office is responsible for overseeing the Northern Ireland devolution settlement and representing Northern Ireland interests at UK Government level and UK Government interests in Northern Ireland.

There is no generally accepted term to describe what Northern Ireland is: province, region, country or something else. Many people inside and outside Northern Ireland use other names for Northern Ireland, depending on their point of view. It is known that tourist attractions include cultural festivals, musical and artistic traditions, countryside and geographical sites of interest, public houses, welcoming hospitality and sports (especially golf and fishing).

The whole of Northern Ireland has a temperate maritime climate, rather wetter in the west than the east, although cloud cover is persistent across the region. The weather is unpredictable at all times of the year, and although the seasons are distinct, they are considerably less pronounced than in interior Europe or the eastern seaboard of North America.

Other places and informational links for Northern Ireland:

Northern Ireland was created in 1921 when the British government split Ireland into two territories having self-government, at least to a significant degree. It comprises six of the nine counties of Ulster (one of the four ancient Irish provinces), with the remaining three (Monaghan, Cavan and Donegal) staying in what is now the modern day Republic of Ireland. For this reason Ulster is a popular colloquial alternative name for Northern Ireland, even if it is not in the strictest sense historically accurate.

Regions of Northern Ireland

County Antrim
Belfast is situated in County Antrim, as is the stunning North Coast and Giant’s Causeway.
County Armagh
Formerly the most militarised territory in Western Europe and home of the Navan Fort.
County Derry
The city of Derry is located here.
County Down
The beautiful coastal resort of Bangor is found here. Also the Mourne Mountains – an area of outstanding natural beauty.
County Fermanagh
Largely rural county adjacent to the Irish border, famed for its numerous lakes.
County Tyrone
A rural county, home to the Sperrin Mountains.
Castlerock Golf Club
Castlerock Golf Club is a links course situated in the seaside village of Castlerock, which lies approximately 5 miles due West of the town of Coleraine on the North Coast of Northern Ireland
Bushmills Irish Whiskey – Since Way Back
The malts, blends and special editions from The Old Bushmills Distillery in Co Antrim, Ireland, including tours and recipes
Northern Ireland Museums Council
Here you will find detailed information on all of the museums in Northern Ireland as well as a full description of the work of the Council.

Northern Ireland is served by three airports – Belfast International near Antrim, George Best Belfast City in East Belfast, and City of Derry in County Londonderry.

Major sea ports at Larne and Belfast carry passengers and freight between Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Passenger railways are operated by Northern Ireland Railways. With Iarnrod Éireann (Irish Rail), Northern Ireland Railways co-operates in providing the joint Enterprise service between Dublin and Belfast.


Directions by City or Zip (Postcode)

  You’ll probably need maps, directions or both at some point in your travels. Just type the starting place in the first box, the ending destination in the second box and click “Go”. As an example, you could enter your home address as the starting point and the address of the place you are to stay at as the destination.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.